Korvia/EPIK Timeline 2016

Here is an ongoing timeline of my process applying to EPIK through Korvia (my recruiter) for the Fall 2016 intake. I personally found these timelines very helpful as I know how stressful everything can be. Applying to teach in Korea involves a lot of waiting.. then rushing.. then waiting.. then rushing. So hopefully this is of use to you, whether you came looking for an idea of how long things take, how early you need to start, or just some moral support! I will also be updating this timeline as I go since I am still currently going through the process. Check back later for a blog post on tips and recommendations.

*Please note this is just my personal experience as an individual living in Toronto, Canada. The process can vary greatly from person to person and is very different for those applying directly to EPIK (without a recruiter). EPIK also expressed that this intake had an unusually high number of applicants so the entire process was delayed. If your experience isn’t lining up with mine, don’t worry :)*

Prior to March 2016 – Do lots of research on Korea and teaching English abroad. Prep cover letter and resume and confirm with 2 people that they’ll be your reference

Thursday March 3rd 2016 – Purchased my online TEFL course through Global Training Academy (via the Korvia website)

Saturday March 19th, 2016 – Submitted application to Korvia

Thursday March 24th, 2016 – Received an email from Korvia requesting a Skype interview

Sunday March 27th, 2016 – Interview with Korvia

Sunday March 27th, 2016 – Received official email from Korvia on next steps

March 28th-April 6th 2016 – Exchanged emails back and forth with my recruiter in preparation for submitting my EPIK application. At this point Korvia seemed to be really busy and was not prompt on replying emails (I some times didn’t get a response to my questions).. I was getting concerned and felt really behind schedule but don’t worry! Just focus on completing your EPIK application and hand in what you can if you have questions. They will get back to you eventually

Thursday April 7th 2016 – Sent my (incomplete) EPIK application to my recruiter for her review, noting any questions I had on the application

Friday April 8th 2016 – Received feedback for my EPIK application

Friday April 8th 2016 – Revised my application and sent it back to my recruiter

Monday April 11th 2016 – Received email that my recruiter submitted my application to EPIK

April 12th – May 4th, 2016 – A lot of waiting and being anxious. Overanalyzing everything (or more accurately lack of anything). During this time I also began prepping documents I needed for the next step to have them ready for the interview. It took me about 1.5 weeks to complete my RCMP level criminal background check via digital fingerprinting

Wednesday May 4th, 2016 – Received email from Korvia requesting an interview through Skype with EPIK!

Thursday May 12th, 2016 – Interview with EPIK

May 12th – 17th 2016 – Prep revisions to documents that my EPIK interviewer mentioned during the interview. Be anxious once again

Wednesday May 18th 2016 – Received email from Korvia that I passed my EPIK interview!!! Emailed my recruiter to let her know and confirm a few details

Thursday May 19th, 2016 – Sent out my application package through Canada Post Priority Worldwide

Monday May 23rd, 2016 – Received email from Korvia that they received my application and is now in the screening stage at EPIK HQ.

Wednesday June 8th, 2016 – Completed my TEFL course (yay)

Monday June 17th, 2016 – Received an email confirming that I have been placed in Chungbuk Province!

June 18th-July 4th 2016 – Finished gathering my official BA diploma (a notarized photocopy with consular seal), updated transcripts and a hard copy of my TEFL certificate

Tuesday July 5th 2016 – Mailed out final documents

Tuesday July 12th 2016 – Received email form Korvia stating next steps and my tracking number for my package

Wednesday July 13th 2016 – Received my contract and NOA in the mail!

Friday July 15th 2016 – Applied for Visa at my consulate

Monday July 18th 2016 – Received email invitation from EPIK for pre-orientation

Wednesday July 20th 2016 – Booked my flight

Monday July 25th 2016 – Picked up Visa at my consulate

Tuesday August 16th 2016 – Flew to Korea!

August 18th – 26th 2016 – EPIK Orientation

Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any questions or if you just want someone to chat with!

 

 

Leave a Reply

